Digital Cluster Development Programme (DCDP)

Year: 2015 to Ongoing

Partners: Nokia, Microsoft, mPhasis, Ericsson, UNDP

The total number of households in India engaged in handloom activities (weaving and allied activities) is 31.45 lakhs, according to All India Handloom Census.  India’s handloom tradition has been passed from generation to generation instead of documenting or no traditional schools for imparting their skills. Moreover, handloom weavers are mostly unconnected as they are living remotest villages and don’t know how to use digital connectivity for scaling their existing market.

The community owned wireless network connectivity model, known as Chanderiyaan at Chanderi district of Madhya Pradesh state inspired DEF to adopt handloom clusters enabling handloom weavers to use the digital connectivity for scaling up their existing weaving skills and to sustain their lives.

In 2015, DEF launched the Digital Cluster Development Programme (DCDP) in collaboration with CSR partners that primarily involves inclusive and decentralised use of ICT and other digital tools in critical aspects of handloom cluster development, especially improving and scaling up weaving skills, designs, marketing and entrepreneurship, besides creating sustainable livelihood options for the youth in the clusters.

Since 2015, DEF has adopted the handloom clusters of Saidanpur in Uttar Pradesh in partnership with Ericsson; Barpali & Nuapatna in Odisha, Kollegal in Karnataka, and Po­champalli in Telangana in partnership with Microsoft; Musiri in Tamil Nadu in partner­ship with Mphasis; Kanchipuram in Tamil Nadu in partnership with Nokia and Warli in Maharashtra with UNDP

In 2017, DEF established DigiKargha Foundation (North), a Section 8 company, to support its cluster under the Digital Cluster Development Programme (DCDP) in an effort to lead them towards maturity and sustainability through digital empowerment and socio-economic sustainability.

Locations & states

S.N State Handloom Clusters
1 Madhya Pradesh Chanderi
2 Odisha Nuapatna
3 Barpali
4 Karnataka Kollegal
5 Tamil Nadu Musiri
6 Telangana Yadadri Bhongir
7 Maharashtra Talasari


Read more about the project on